10 big moments in 2014

HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYBODY! *throws virtual confetti*

Can’t believe it’s 2015 already! I still remember I was on my bed in my aunt’s place back in 2001 or 2002 and I was so excited to grow up, so excited to be a teenager and brave the world. Now, I feel it’s going wayy too fast! For all I know, 2015 is going to fly by really quickly and I’ll be in shock again!

If I could summarise 2014 in a few words, it will be a year of breakthrough. (2013 : Year of learning) A year of much struggle and tears, but I’m so glad that it had a happy ending by December. A year of uncertainties but my victories and breakthrough finally came to past! *fist pump*

In the midst of everything, here are the few big moments I can remember of 2014!

#1 – Changed my career path!
So, I’m no longer working in the corporate world! Having more than 4 years of experience in the accounting and finance industry, I finally decided to call it a day. Think I had enough of the crazy rat race – 2 years in PwC as an auditor and another 2.5 years in Deloitte as a M&A consultant. I was working an average of 12 hours a day (weekends included although lesser hours) and that left me with very bad eye bags, lack of sleep and a lot more of health complications. I had no social life and used all my waking hours to study, serve in church and volunteer as a teacher on Saturdays. My friends kinda stopped asking me out for dinners and hangouts.

Things got slightly better in Deloitte but it got equally as bad by Dec 2013. The working hours, unreasonable deadlines and vague leadership were the very reasons I couldn’t take it anymore. I do not want to work like this for the next 10 years of my life, sacrificing my health, happiness and social life doing something I don’t like. Or even doing something that was just OK. This is NOT how life is supposed to be.

So, I took the leap of faith and resigned. Started my new job as an NGO employee in Generasi Gemilang which I detailed it all in here. Now, I wake up excited everyday and I get to do what I love, no 2 days of my work is the same and I have really fun colleagues! I get to even tag along with my colleagues twice a week for football trainings with the kids! #lovelovelove

LIKE THIS! I feel like a kid working here and I LOVE IT! ❤

wpid-20141209_142438.jpg

wpid-20141209_213805.jpg
Nippon Art Exhibition – Paintings were done by the kids themselves

Then again, my job gets pretty hectic. I work on most Saturdays and dealing with kids really draw out every ounce of energy from me. I get super duper exhausted after work each day that I just crash on the sofa when I’m home. That’s why loving what I do really helps me get through the bad+tough days! Can’t imagine me doing this if I had no passion for it. I can really go cray cray. Lol!

This really made my year. Thank you, God 😀

#2 – Backpacked in Philippines
When I told my ex-colleague, Tatika who was working in Deloitte Philippines about my intention to resign, she told me she wanted to resign too! What’s more amazing was that we tendered on the same day, served our notice together and decided that we should travel together since I had a bit of spare time before I start work! Sweeeet! 

I don’t know how she convinced me to backpack but I just went for it anyway! We toured 4 different islands in 2 different provinces for 21 days. Camotes, Kalanggaman, Siquihor and Siargao (the last being my favourite!)

wpid-20140923_113411.jpg

Travel in Philippines has taught me so many things I never knew. It first taught me the definition of travel.

Travel – the way I used to know it – was to go somewhere, (overseas if possible) and have fun. Now, I make it a point to get out of my comfort zone, immerse myself with the culture and locals and learn a thing or two. Travel really does teach you about life and yourself – Insecurities that you never thought you had. Fear that you casually push aside. Desire to belong in a community. Desire to understand the surroundings and its people. Patience because you can only wait.

Now, I can’t wait to explore different parts of the world through backpacking! Hopefully, Vietnam and Siargao (again!) in 2015! Sponsor me, please? 😀 Any travel buddies?

#3 – Explored different kinds of art – calligraphy, more sewing
The do-one-project-every-fortnight didn’t really work because I was tied up to various commitments i.e. work and more work. Ugh, I feel like a loser giving such lame excuses! But yea, towards the end of the year, I did more DIYs and crafts which I’m pretty happy about. I didn’t know I could do calligraphy (cheat one, use calligraphy marker pen) until I gave it a try and realised my dad taught me way back!

wpid-20141224_092126.jpg


#4 – Spent money more wisely
– Less shopping on nonsense
Ahh, this. Haha. Unlike the years before, I just buy so much nonsense because they were cheap. Clothes, shoes, bags and more shoes. Once, I spent my entire salary on craft stamps and only had RM100 to survive for the rest of the month. Don’t judge me! Now, I think twice or thrice before I make any purchase. This include food and drinks.

Do I really need that latte or the steak?
Maybe Kopi-O and chicken chop will give me the same satisfaction.

With this new job, I can’t afford to be buying unnecessary stuff because I don’t really earn that much now. But, oh wells. You can’t have em’ all. You just gotta pick what’s most important to you!


#5 – Met new friends
With travel, I got to meet some pretty cool new friends too. Friends that are so free-spirited and spontaneous. Pretty amazing to have friends that constantly remind you that there is an awesome world out there!

Even managed to bring some German friends to tour around KL! #tourguideinthemaking #ohyeah 😀

wpid-img-20141222-wa0008.jpg
Joscha and Nadja

Looking forward to meet different ones in 2015!

#6 – Deeper and more intimate moments with Jesus
The first half of 2014 was incredibly tough on me. There were days where I just broke down and cry. I had so many questions. I was just so desperate for a change, for a new lease of life. I couldn’t take it anymore. I needed God. The whole experience brought me much closer to Him. I can trust Him more, listen to Him even better.

Thank you, God 🙂

#7 – Investments
I’m currently dating Marc and I hope it will bring ROI very soon!
Just kidding! Lol!

Instead of putting money in FD which bears nothing but 0.3% a year, I put some funds elsewhere managed by Marc, my investment manager. I’m growing up, mom!


#8 – 2nd anniversary with Marc and we are so much more happier!

I guess it just gets better as we date because we know what not to say on stressful days, we argue better and we know how to cheer each other up! So darn thankful for him! He has been such an inspiration and encouragement to me especially this year. He just listens and listens although he had his own fair share of shit to deal with at work. I love you, Marc! 😀

Us at the AFF Suzuki Cup Finals!
Us at the AFF Suzuki Cup Finals!

#9 – Became more fearless, independent
I’ve learnt when enough is enough, that I would not let them dictate how I should live my life anymore. Enough! Yea, not many have gone down the route I want to go, but so what? I’m happy and that’s all it matters. 10 years down the road, I’m the one responsible for the choices I make. If I’m not happy, I’ve nobody else to blame but me. It’s gonna be ok. I may not see what’s ahead of me, heck, I don’t even know how I’m gonna survive GST in Apr 2015. But I know it’s gonna be OK. It will be. Sometimes, moments of desperation brings out the best in you. I became better. I became fearless. I can kick some ass right now! #ohyeah

#10 – .. Okay, maybe not 10. I couldn’t think of no.10 but hey, there’s always 2015! Another 362 days to go! 🙂

5 thoughts on “10 big moments in 2014

  1. My first time stopping by your (not so) new (anymore) blog! But hey, better late than never yeah. Btw, very curious… Did you learn from me to label your years at the end of each i.e. Year of “something” ?? 🙂 I think I remember telling you (and Chris, and few others) some time ago that I do that.

Leave a Reply

