Clare’s 2015 Reading List – I am Malala

When I saw this book on Marc’s book shelves few months back, I knew I had to borrow it! Heck, it’s MALALA! The ever famous Malala who got shot because she wanted an education for everyone.

I first knew about her story through ZenPencils (you gotta check his work out, so brilliant!) and I started reading the book in my Hanoi trip. I don’t know if you share my sentiment, but reading has this magical power to bring you out of your reality into this new world of imagination shaped by what the author writes. You can be in different eras, different social backgrounds, different careers – all in the power of imagination. Of course, for this particular story – It’s real.

wpid-2015-09-19-08.14.50-1.jpg.jpeg

I imagined myself being Malala, in her world in Pakistan and all the things she went through as a teenage girl. It really brings things into perspective. Her people have to deal with suicide bombers and terror attacks daily, women are not allowed to be educated. Yet here, we are living life in our comfort zones – no fear of getting killed the next morning, access to education, house to live in, a job that we can go to everyday and we find it hard to be thankful.

I’m so encouraged by her life, so young and yet, achieved so much. How she is so fearless despite real threats from the Talibans and she was only 15+ when all that happened! In her book, she described how much she loved reading and going through her books, that to her is gold. She even asked her father to bring her books from Pakistan to Birmingham when she was recovering from all the surgeries! Crazy!!

You know, all the buzzfeed and other list articles that you read in social media on how you should listen to your heart and pursue after your dreams? Yeah, Malala is ALREADY doing that in her teenage years, living her dream and I don’t think she will stop anytime soon.

Makes me think, what am I waiting for? Why am I always procastinating?  

I’ll leave you with one excerpt from the book that I feel worth sharing because I know how it feels to lose certain functionality of your body temporarily. You begin to appreciate.

“We human beings don’t realise how great God is. He has given us an extraordinary brain and a sensitive loving heart. He has blessed us with two lips to talk and express our feelings, two eyes which see a world of colours and beauty, two feet which walk on the road of life, two hands to work for us, a nose which smells the beauty of fragrance, and two ears to hear the word of love. As I found with my ear, no one knows how much power they have in their each and every organ until they lose it.”
Leave a Reply

