Life Lessons from a Car Accident

I got into a car accident just a week ago. I was taking the usual route back home after work, a route which I have been taking for the past 3 years. Suddenly, this young lady hit my car from the side as she was turning out and I couldn’t even avoid her.

Now, the case was very clear but because she was driving a BMW, I was of course intimidated and I allowed myself to think that maybe it’s both our fault. I decided to lodge a police report after much contemplation (more like advice from wiser people). It was a long stressful night as I was accident free for a very very long time, so I’m unsure of what to expect.

Everyone who saw my car told me that I didn’t need to worry because the damage of my car would be able to justify the story. It would be a straightforward simple case. But no, I told them I was sceptical because the system can actually fail you. 

True enough.
Today, I was called back to the police station.

I was informed that my statement and the other party’s statement were different and because of that, we had to pay for our own damages. The other side of the story was that I changed lane and therefore, hit her car.

I was framed. 

At this point, I just… just…arghhhh.. argh. &*(^$##$**(!#$%^&*!!! SO ANGRY. Why would people do such things and lie? Fear? Because you want to avoid the consequences? I WAS SOOOO SO ANGRY. I was so tempted to confront them. I wanted to scream at them. I wanted them to know how mad I was.

Marc then asked me, “So, what do you wanna do?”
“I don’t know. Should I confront her? Would Jesus do that?”
“It’s up to you, but Jesus wouldn’t do that”

I walked away because I knew it would have been an ugly scene if I stayed.

During the entire drive home, I was telling Marc how this whole thing was just pure rubbish and I didn’t deserve this because I did nothing wrong. I spoke of the truth and how it was. But I was reminded by him that Jesus experienced the same thing, because He did nothing wrong and yet, he was blamed for it.

As I reflected on that, I’m reminded of His love and that ultimately, He will be the final judge. I did my part and I just gotta learn how to forgive and move on.

I’m safe. Nobody was hurt. The car just needs to get fixed.
My conscience is clear and my integrity is worth far more than the repair costs.

I’m going home with my head held high (so drama can! Haha..) and I know that sometimes life can be really unfair, but hey. I live to fight another day! 

There are many other battles in life and you choose which ones are worth fighting for.

Leave a Reply

